Words and pictures of Amelie Wikstrom ©2019

Home Some Girls Art Links

2019:04:28:21:27:29

A declaration of purpose/incantation of will:

I set my pen in motion.

It is an act of courage, leaving the familiar places, the old tried-and-true lines. Searching for new worlds, new words. Fighting my insecurities, my damned fear of failing.

Every time.

Every moment of every day.

Putting the pen on the page takes so much work.

And I set my pen in motion anyway. I set myself in motion. I become alive.

I don't need to do it to impress someone. I don't need to do it to bring joy to people. I don't need to do it to justify my existence. I don't need to do it to make a living. I don't need to do it to tell the story. I don't need to do it because the story deserves it. I don't need to do it because no one else can do it.

I just need to do it to do it.

To be in motion.

It doesn't have to be perfect, it doesn't even have to be done, it just has to be moving. Become.

Let the work become a verb. Let me become a verb, not a noun. A process. A momentum. An act.

I get my act together. No more fits, no more starts and stops. Finally. After thirty eight years. This time it's for real.

I set my pen in motion.

Okay, it's a cheap plastic stylus but, you know, poetic license.


Archived posts: On resisting fascism

Please direct any comments to @all_mankind@twitter, @amelie@kind.social or skapare@gmail.com